As an Amazon affiliate I earn from qualifying purchases at NO extra cost to you.
Research shows that a well-planned and balanced lacto-vegetarian diet benefits your health in many ways. For starters, it supports a healthy weight loss. This diet focuses on nutrient-dense, low-caloric foods like fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts, seeds, soy, and dairy products.
Lacto-Vegetarian Diet Benefits
Moreover, it is imperative to make sure you are getting enough protein. This dietary plan eliminates all meat from your diet. The lacto-vegetarian diet benefits include protein substitutes such as tofu, soybeans, chickpeas, lentils, legumes, and nuts and seeds, to name a few. This diet is not as restrictive as a vegan diet. The vegetarian diet is the new normal.
Vegetarian Living is Mainstream
A vegetarian lifestyle is taking the world by storm. This lifestyle is broken down in four major categories: Lacto-vegetarian, Ovo-vegetarian, Pescatarian-vegetarian and Flexitarian- vegetarian. I will cover some of these topics in subsequent sessions. Are you ready to take the next step?
Is Lacto-Vegetarian Healthier Than Vegan?
Some restrictive vegetarian diets cut out calorie-rich foods such as cheese. For example, vegan diets restrict all meat and animal products. As a result, cheese, milk, butter and all products that come from animals is omitted from your diet. The good news is that you can be healthy on lacto-vegetarian diet.
What is Lactose?
Lactose is referred to as ‘milk sugar.” It is naturally found in the milk of mammals, cows, goats, and humans. Lactose makes up around 2-8% of milk. The name comes from the Latin word “lac,” for milk. Plus, the suffix “ose” is used to name sugars. Check out this YouTube: https://youtu.be/HB3g1eoe3eU. However, not everyone tolerates lactose.
What is Lactose Intolerance?
Lactose intolerance refers to individuals who are unable to digest lactose (or sugars from dairy products) due to a deficiency of lactase. Lactase is an enzyme produced in the small intestines. Without enough lactase, the body is unable to break down lactose into glucose. Glucose is absorbed into the bloodstream for energy.
Being lactose intolerant is uncomfortable when dairy products are consumed. The best way to relieve discomfort is to avoid foods and drinks that contain lactose. Another way is to take lactase digestive enzymes supplements. Also, there are tests available that helps detect intolerance.
Lactose Intolerance Conditions
Please note that a lot of the additives are various chemicals in powder form. Lactose intolerance is a very individual condition. This means that some people can tolerate different amounts of lactose. There is a litany of options available with varying amounts of lactose, even lactose-free products.
If you are lactose intolerant, the lacto-vegetarian diet is NOT
designed for you. There are other options. Talk to your primary care provider or consult a dietitian. They can recommend a customized program for you. Lack of tolerance to dairy products is not uncommon.
Lactose Intolerance in India
According to Times Of India 60 percent of people in India face some form or other of lactose intolerance and many of them don’t even get to notice it. This group would not be a good candidate for a lacto-vegetarian diet. Lacto-vegetarians can tolerate lactose just fine.
Getting Started on a Lacto-Vegetarians
Are you planning to become a lacto-vegetarian? If so, you will be most successful by choosing a variety of healthy plant-based foods. Aim for whole fruits and vegetables, legumes, nuts, whole grains, and dairy and eggs. At the same time, cut back on any processed items. There are a few disadvantages to the Lacto-Vegetarian Diet.
Disadvantage of a Lacto-Vegetarian Diet
A vegetarian diet focuses on nutritious plant foods can accelerate weight loss. However, it is important to get enough protein. You also need to strike a healthy balance between your portion sizes and watch your intake of calorie-rich foods, refined carbs, and ultra-processed produce. Keep in mind that not all vegetarian foods are healthy. So, please educate yourself if you think you have deficiencies.
Deficiencies of Lacto-Vegetarian Diet
Not everyone can tolerate milk or milk products. Many vegetarians discover that they cannot tolerate any dairy products. If this applies to you, there are signs and symptoms to pay close attention to.
Lacto-Vegetarian Intolerance Symptoms?
- Stomach pain
- Distended Stomach (bloating)
- Embarrassing Gas (flatulence
- Nausea and vomiting
- Gurgling Stomach
- Ethnicities Prone – East Asian, West African, Arabs, Jewish. Greek, and Italian descent.
The Loop on Lacto-Vegetarians?
Lacto-vegetarians pay attention to what you eat. Not all vegetarian foods are totally meat-free. Lacto-vegetarians are different from other vegetarians because they can consume dairy, hence the “lacto” in the name. Lacto-vegetarians do not eat any of the following foods:
Are Lacto-Vegetarian Foods Meat Free
For the most part, lacto-vegetarians adhere to a slightly restrictive diet. Unlike their true vegetarian and vegan counterparts, the lacto-vegetarian diet must be taken seriously. These vegetarians enjoy eating cheese as part of their regular diet. Cheese does not require slaughtering of the animal. However, some foods contain trace amounts of meat or products:
Parmesan is made of animal byproducts such as milk and eggs. In addition, Parmesan and some cheeses are made from an enzyme taken from the stomach of a goat or calf. Other cheeses include Manchego, Pecorino, and more.
Guess what’s in gelatin? Did you know that gelatin contains cow or pigskin, ligaments, bones, and tendons? Also, gelatin is not exclusively edible. It is an ingredient used in face masks, shampoos, and other cosmetic products. It is a thickener that is often added to puddings, Jell-O, candies, cakes, marshmallow, yogurts, and ice cream. This substance is also a part of some supplements that are held together by gelatin.
Surprisingly, Worcestershire contains anchovies and fish sauce. Although the fins are not included, you should check out the label to see what other things are in the sauce. I know for a fact that my folks always had a bottle of this amazing sauce on our table.
Here’s a little trivia for you. Your delicious, refried beans are laden with animal lard. Yes, animal lard. Just so you know, most of the fast-food restaurant refried beans are made with lard.
What is Lard?
- Lard almost always comes from pigs, though some people consider duck fat a type of lard. At room temperature, lard is saturated enough to be solid, yet unsaturated enough to be malleable.
- Lard has always been an important cooking and baking ingredient. In the 19th and 20th centuries, lard was like butter, especially during World War II.
- Lard had a noticeable pork taste, but there’s not much evidence that 19th-century Americans objects to it, even in cakes and pies. It is pork fat from the pig’s back and kidneys, as opposed to tallow, which is beef fat from cows.
Celebrities Praise Lard
Rick Bayless, winner of Bravo’s Top Chef Master’s, owner of Frontero Grill and Toplobampo restaurants in Chicago, Mexican cuisine, uses lard. Check out some of the hidden ingredients in a junk food, such as Twinkies.
I don’t know about you, but as far as taste is concerned, Twinkies is the gold standard of junk food. Guess what? Even though these are tasty and have an amazing shelf life, Twinkies are made of beef fat. This information is printed on the label of the Twinkies package. Moreover, it is very unhealthy food.
For your information, there are 37 ingredients that make up a Twinkies. Let’s list them here:
Enriched Bleached Flour, Reduced Iron, B Vitamins, Niacin, Thiamine Mononitrate, (B1), Riboflavin (B2), Folic Acid, Corn Syrup, Sugar, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Water, Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable and/or Animal Shortening, Soybean, Cottonseed and/or Canola Oil, Beef Fat, Whole Eggs, Dextrose, Contains 2%, or Less of: Modified Corn Syrup, Glucose, Leavening, Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate, Baking Soda, Monocalcium Phosphate, Sweet Dairy Whey, Soy Protein Isolate, Calcium and Sodium Caseinate, Salt, Mono and Diglycerides, Polysorbate 60, Soy Lecithin, Soy Flour, Cornstarch, Cellulose Gum, Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Sorbic Acid (to Retain Freshness), Yellow 5, Red 40.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is Lactose?
Lactose is a natural sugar in milk and other dairy products like yogurt and ice cream. The body digests lactose using lactose, a natural enzyme.
Why am I Lactose Intolerance?
Lacto-vegetarians can consume dairy products unless they are lactose-intolerant. The ability to digest as an adult is a generic trait, and individuals often tolerate varying amounts of lactase with no or minor symptoms.
Is it a Milk Allergy or Lactose Intolerance?
A doctor can officially diagnose whether discomfort after eating dairy is from lactose intolerance of a milk allergy.
What is Lactose-Free Milk?
Milk companies make lactose-free milk by taking real cow’s milk and filtering out the lactose. Or they break down the lactose into its two simple sugars.
Ways to Manage Lactose Intolerance?
Did you know each person with lactose intolerance is likely able to tolerate varying degrees of lactose? That’s because one size does not fit all.
What is the National Dairy Council?
For 100 years, on behalf of dairy farmers and the dairy community, National Dairy Council (NDC) has been committed to research and education. Its website offers a collection of educational materials such as dietary guidelines, protein, maintaining a healthy weight, lactose intolerance, and the connection between dairy and sports. They also provide information kits to health care professionals.
Is lacto-vegetarian healthier than vegetarian and vegan?
Lacto-vegetarian is designed for people who are lactose intolerance. Some restrictive vegetarian diets cut out calorie-rich foods such as cheese. For example, vegan diets restrict all meat and animal products. As a result, cheese milk, butter and all products that come from animals is omitted from your diet. The good news is that you can be healthy on lacto-vegetarian diet.
Is lactose intolerance genetic?
The answer is both yes and no. In one sense, it is caused by our genes. There are things people can do to minimize lactose intolerance symptoms. You can reach out to your primary care physician.
Gradually Increase Milk?
If you already tolerate some lactose in your diet, don’t stop eating those foods. Instead, very slowly increase the amount and variety of dairy foods to get to recommended amounts.
Give up Milk While Nursing?
Drinking milk or eating cheese or yogurt will not make your baby lactose intolerant. Lactose intolerance is a genetic issue, and it isn’t affected by what you or your baby consume.
Kids and Lactose Intolerance
Did you know that if a doctor diagnoses your child with lactose intolerance, it may not mean they have to cut out milk, cheese, and yogurt?
Thank you for spending this quality time with me on these sensitive topics. We all need and want guidance and direction when it comes to our diet and weight management issues. No worries. There are enough diet plans to go around. The trick is to pick the one that is most compatible to you and your lifestyle.
When you have the tools need to master your dietary needs, you have a better understanding moving forward. Although I have recently transitioned to a plant-based diet, I am always researching to see how I can improve my healthy eating habits.
Answering your questions and comments is important to me. So, feel free to leave me a message in the comment section below. I will do my level best to help solve your questions. We can find solutions together.